I&CO Equity and Justice Action Plan

I&CO
4 min readJul 1, 2020

--

The activism we at I&CO have seen around the world and from our colleagues moves and inspires us. At the same time, in this period of introspection, we have had to contend with the reality that the industry we are in has done harm. We as a company haven’t done enough to recognize the ways our work and company culture have added to the systems that have disregarded Black and Brown life.

We are committed to being different going forward. We have already taken steps to begin advancing our company as an antiracist firm and workplace, and we are committing to specific actions and initiatives to be actively antiracist. Here is how we will begin our journey:

1. I&CO is committed to being an antiracist company by continually examining and adapting our culture to be a more inclusive environment that confronts injustice and oppression in our everyday lives and interactions.

  • When we started I&CO, we wrote a few values and principles to articulate what we believed in and stood for. They became the Seven Maxims of I&CO. They are woven into the fabric of everything we do and have guided us in making the right decisions. We have amended our company Maxims to include a principle stating our continuous commitment to actively creating antiracist work and place: Be just. Do right.
  • I&CO will offer diversity, equity, and inclusion training to all employees by the end of 2020. Training will be ongoing for everyone at I&CO and a part of all new-hire onboarding.
  • I&CO will create an activism committee responsible for developing an ongoing practice of knowledge sharing, open dialogue, and mutual accountability through regular programming.
  • I&CO recognizes the impact the outcome that the 2020 election will have on the fight for racial equity and justice, and has made an official policy of support for employees’ use of work hours to engage in volunteering and political activism in the lead-up to November.

2. I&CO is committed to creating work that does not contribute to systems of racial oppression or the spread of racism in the world, assessing all future work to ensure we are reducing — not creating — harm.

  • I&CO has begun crafting equity and justice criteria for all future projects to hold ourselves, our clients, and what we produce accountable to our ideals. We will publish this criteria in Fall 2020.
  • I&CO has begun an extensive audit of our past work to honestly evaluate and acknowledge how our working process must change. We will implement this new project process in Fall 2020.
  • I&CO is committed to alerting and educating our clients to the bias and problematic practices we observe within their organizations and project planning. I&CO will create a workshop/materials for our international clients to educate them on issues of inclusivity, racial justice, and BLM by the end of Summer 2020.

3. I&CO is committed to becoming a more racially representational firm, beginning with how we identify and recruit talent and assess our team makeup.

  • I&CO has adapted our job descriptions and recruitment criteria to eliminate unnecessary and discriminatory requirements.
  • I&CO has evaluated our recruitment strategy and will be expanding our network to include representation-focused recruitment partners and new inclusion requirements for our existing recruitment services.
  • I&CO will evolve our internship program to support applicants from a broader catchment of backgrounds and schools, offering equalizing benefits to ensure our internship program is accessible to all.
  • I&CO will undergo an assessment to determine our shortcomings in creating a culture of inclusion and support, to inform changes to our environment and behavior. We will conduct this assessment by the end of 2020.
  • I&CO will craft staff representation criteria and goals, assessing our progress on an ongoing basis. I&CO will publish our diversity representation findings annually, candidly reporting our progress and regularly instituting new commitments.

4. I&CO is assessing all discretionary spending decisions to ensure we are supporting BIPOC business owners whenever possible.

  • I&CO has conducted an audit and reevaluation of all vendors and partners, to identify areas where we can do more with our money.
  • I&CO is committed to vetting all future partners and vendors to ensure they are explicitly antiracist before spending money with them.

I&COは、世界中で起きている人種差別に対する怒りや抗議活動、そして周りの仲間の行動力に心を動かされています。同時に、私たち自身が、時には世の中にネガティブな影響を与えている事実と向き合わなければなりません。これまで私たちは、黒人や有色人種の人々を軽視している社会構造に、企業として与してきたということを十分に理解していませんでした。

私たちはこれからも変化していくことを約束します。I&COはこれまでも、反人種差別的なチームであろうとしてきましたが、もうそれだけでは足りません。私たちは反人種差別を体現する会社になるため、具体的な行動を起こすことをここに宣言します。

1. I&COは、私たちの企業文化がよりインクルーシブなものになるように、学び続け、前進していきます。そして、日々の生活で生じる不正や抑圧に立ち向かうことができる、反人種差別的な会社であり続けることを約束します。

  • I&COを創業するとき、理念を明確にするために “7 maxims of I&CO” を制定しました。この行動指針は、I&COの全ての行動や判断の軸になり、正しい選択をするための指針となっています。そして今回、反人種差別的な職場と空間を作るために行動を続けていくために、8つ目の行動指針を追加することにしました。 “Be just, do right” 日本語訳「善く生きる」。
  • I&COは2020年の終わりまでに、ダイバーシティ/インクルージョンに関する研修を全ての社員に対して行います。この研修はそれ以降もに継続的に行い、新しく入社する社員にも実施します。
  • I&COはこれからも知識の共有やオープンな対話を推進します。また、定期的にディスカッションの場を設け、議論や活動の活性化を目的とした社内チームを立ち上げます。
  • I&COは、2020年に行われるアメリカ大統領選の結果が、人種的公平性と正義に多大なる影響を与えると認識しています。そこでI&COは、社員が業務時間内にボランティア活動や政治活動に参加することを支援する方針を、公式に表明します。

2. I&COは、制度的人種差別を推進したり、人種的抑圧をほのめかしたり、人種差別を拡散するような仕事には参画しません。今後I&COが携わるすべての案件が、世の中に害を与えず、善意のある活動に繋がることを約束します。

  • I&COメンバー一人一人はもちろん、我々が関わるクライアントやプロジェクトについても、その「公平性と正義」を明らかにするための基準を設定します。 この基準は2020年秋に公開します。
  • I&COは、私たちの働き方が今後どのように変化する必要があるかを確認するために、過去の業務やプロジェクトの監査を開始しました。 監査後を経て考案される新しい働き方は、2020年秋から実施します。
  • I&COは、クライアント組織およびプロジェクトの過程で偏見や問題のある事柄を発見した場合、警告および教育をします。2020年夏の終わりまでに、 I&COはグローバルクライアントに向けてインクルーシビティや人種、BLMの問題について教育するための、ワークショッププログラムおよび資料を作成します。

3. I&COは、全ての人種を代表する、多様性を尊重した企業になることを目指します。そこでまず、人材の採用方針を見直し、I&COチームの多様性について考え直します。

  • I&COは、差別的要件を除くために、人材募集時の採用基準を修正しました。
  • I&COは、採用に関する戦略を練り直します。弊社の採用パートナーと協議しながら、より多様な人材を採用するために新しい採用条件を検討し、採用の機会を拡大することを目指します。
  • I&COは、インターンシッププログラムを進化させます。様々なバックグラウンドや幅広い分野の学校から人材を募り、すべての人がインターンシッププログラムにアクセスできるようにするための平等な条件を提示します。
  • I&COは、社員の意識改革及び行動の変化を促進するため、インクルーシブな文化を生み出す観点での評価軸を設けます。 この評価は2020年末までに実施する予定です。
  • I&COは、社員の目指すべき姿とその基準を定め、継続的に進捗状況を確認します。 また、毎年社員の多様性に関する意識調査の結果を公表します。意識調査の進捗状況は透明性をもって報告し、職場での多様性を促す新しい取り組みを定期的に実施します。

4. I&COは、可能な限りBIPOC(Black, indigenous and People of color : 黒人、先住民、有色人種) 事業主を支援します。

  • I&COは、すべてのお取引先について監査と再評価を実施し、自分たちが持っている資金でより社会に貢献ができるよう、商流の見直しをしています。
  • I&COは、今後すべてのお取引先と協業会社を精査し、取り引きを開始する前に、お取引先と協業会社が反人種差別主義であることを確認することを約束します。

※日本語版は、2020年7月1日に英語で公開した記事を翻訳したものです。原文発表時に予定していた各種基準・資料の公開時期は、変更になる可能性もあります。準備が整い次第、順次公開いたします。

--

--

I&CO

A business invention firm. We identify new market opportunities and design best-in-class customer experiences.